Wednesday, December 07, 2005

Southern Region of the United States.

We have divided the United States into four regions in order to more effectively go about our state-by-state analysis.

Our southern region consists of Texas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, Florida, South Carolina, North Carolina, Tennesse and Arkansas. The southern region consists of 10 states that account for 120 of the 435 members of congress (27.6%).

Macro: Of the 120 House members that represent this region, 49 are Democrats and 71 are Republicans. This region's Senate delegation is made up of 16 Republicans and 4 Democrats. This region accounts for 27.6% of the US House and 20% of the United States Senate. John Kerry did not carry a single southern state in 2004.

Micro: This region only has ten competitive House races.

TX-17 Rep. Edwards (D) 8th Term 2004: % of vote 47% R 51% D CPI R+18
TX-22 Rep. DeLay (R) 11th Term 2004: % of vote 55% R 41% D CPI R+15
LA-7 Rep. Boustany (R) Freshman 2004: % of vote 55% R 45% D CPI R+7
LA-3 Rep. Melancon (D) Freshman 2004: % of vote 50% R 50% D CPI R+5
GA-12 Rep. Barrow (D)Freshman 2004: % of vote 48% R 52% D CPI D+5
GA-8 Rep. Marshall (D) Freshman 2004: % of vote NA% R NA% D CPI R+21
FL-9 OPEN 2004: Republican Unopposed CPI R+4
FL-13 OPEN 2004: % of vote 55% R 45% D CPI R+4
FL-22 Rep. Shaw (R) 13th Term 2004: % of vote 63% R 35% D CPI D+4
NC-11 Taylor (R) 8th Term 2004: % of vote 55% R 45% D CPI R+7

1 comment:

  1. Prodigious blog. Loved it so much I went to it
    again! Just go online and search for blogs that are
    worth the value as yours.
    Look into my ma massachusetts house cleaning blog.